Sanjay Murthy and Shri T. G. Sitharam Unveil National Awards Nominations Portal

Sanjay Murthy and Shri T. G. Sitharam Unveil National Awards Nominations Portal

Last Updated May - 22 - 2024, 04:42 PM | Source : PIB | Visitors : 15

Shri Sanjay Murthy and Shri T. G Sitharam have launched the nomination site for the National Awards to Teachers (Higher Education) 2024. Learn about eligibility
Sanjay Murthy and Shri T. G. Sitharam Unveil National Awards Nominations Portal

Shri Sanjay Murthy, Secretary of Higher Education, and Shri TG Sitharam, Chairman of AICTE, have opened the nomination site for the National Awards to Teachers (Higher Education) 2024.

The Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Education, has also issued guidelines for the submission of nominations. The awards will be conferred on the exemplary teachers/faculty members of technical and non-technical higher education institutions and Teachers of Polytechnic Institutions. There shall be three sub-categories under the first category based on the following broad disciplines: Engineering & Technology, Architecture; Pure Sciences including Mathematics, Physical Sciences, Biological Sciences, Chemical Sciences, Medicine, Pharmacy; and Arts and Social Sciences, Humanities, Languages, Legal Studies, Commerce, and Management.

The last date for submission of nominations is 20th June 2024. The selected awardees will be felicitated on 5th September (Teachers’ Day) to commemorate the Birth Anniversary of Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, former President of India and a remarkable teacher.


The award is open to all the faculty members of colleges/universities/higher educational institutions/polytechnics in India, satisfying the following conditions:

  1. The Nominee should be a regular faculty member,
  2. Should have at least five years of full-time teaching experience at the Undergraduate and/or Post-graduate level,
  3. Should NOT be above 55 years of age as on the last date of receiving application for the awards.
  4. Vice-Chancellor/Director/Principal (regular or officiating) are NOT eligible to apply. However, individuals who have held such positions earlier, but are below 55 years of age and still in active service are eligible.

Nomination Procedure:

  1. Self-nomination (Singular basis)
  2. Former or existing Vice-Chancellor/Director/Principal/Faculty Member/Colleague of the same University/Institute/College/Polytechnic, where the nominee holds regular employment. Earlier nominee / nomination is eligible for re-nomination,

The purpose of the National Award to Teachers 2024 in Higher Education Institutions is to recognise the distinctive contributions of some of the finest faculty members in the country and honour them for their dedication and hard work, particularly in teaching and pedagogy, and its impact which have not only improved the quality of higher education but also enriched the lives of their students. The Award seeks to recognise and honour the unique and path-breaking achievements of faculty members in teaching-learning, community outreach, institutional service, research, and novelty of work in the field of higher education.

Click here to apply: (

Stay ahead with educational updates! Join our WhatsApp channel now for the latest insights and knowledge boosts. Don’t miss out, join today!

READ MORE| AICTE Introduces New Guidelines Simplifying Earning Regular Degrees

Share :

Trending this week

Supreme Court Questions Centre: ‘Was Entire NEET Paper Solved Before Exam?’

Jul - 19

The Supreme Court heard a number of petitions on Thursday seeking a re-test or cancellation of the 2024 NEET-UG – for admission to undergradu... Read More

IIT Guwahati Researchers Find RNA-Destroying Role, More Details

Jul - 19

The biochemistry of the African Swine Fever Virus (ASFV) protein has been studied by researchers at the Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati (II... Read More

61st Convocation at IIT Madras: Achievements and Highlights

Jul - 19

The Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Madras held its 61st convocation, where 2,636 students graduated, with 3,016 degrees awarded, including jo... Read More